Porsche bags Car of the Year Award, again

Porsche bags Car of the Year Award, again

Porsche has – once again – scooped the coveted South African Guild of Motoring Journalists Car of the Year title for the third year in a row at a glamorous function in Johannesburg on Wednesday night.

Porsche first won the competition in 2013, with the Boxster S in 2013 and then with the Cayman S came 2014. This year, for the third consecutive year, the honour went to its new compact sports-utility vehicle, the Macan S diesel, a vehicle that represents excellence. The Macan received lots of high average scores where others scored lower, giving it the victory. Hailed by motoring journalists from across the globe as one of the best SUVs ever built, the Porsche Macan S Diesel is a compact yet muscular vehicle.

The South African competition is based on the European Car Of The Year points-based scoring system, but is unique in the world of motoring in that, before the final votes are cast, each of the finalists is also put through a stringent testing procedure by the peer-elected COTY Jury at the world-renowned Gerotek Vehicle Testing Facility outside Pretoria.

Porsche bags Car of the Year Award, again

These were the 2015 finalists, in alphabetical order:

Audi A3 Sedan 1.4T FSI SE S Tronic

BMW M4 Coupe AT

Citroen C4 Picasso e-HDi 115 Intensive

Honda Accord 3.5 V6 Exclusive

Lexus ES 250 EX

Mercedes-Benz C 200 AT

Nissan Qashqai 1.6 dCi Acenta AT

Porsche Macan S Diesel

Renault Duster 1.5dCi Dynamique AWD

Subaru WRX Premium

Toyota Corolla 1.4 D-4D Prestige